Blind women and Menstruation: why and how?

Continuing with the female conversation, and after we talked about applying makeup as a blind woman, I found it a good introduction to speak about that thing that every female has to experience at a certain time in her life on a monthly basis – her monthly period. . I am sorry if the topic seems to be disgusting for some of you; when I thought about start blogging, I decided to discuss anything and everything I find it related to the blind life.


One day, a blind friend went to a doctor for checkup, she was worried because she reached 16 and she didn’t get her period at all. Our great doctor was wondering why she tought about such thing. Why does she need to get her period? He made it as if why you are worried about being a woman. What a dare! Do you ever think that you can experience all the stages of womanhood, to get your period, to have a relation, to get married, or to be a mother?

Horrible, huh? What a terrible feeling when you are deprived of your right to be even a female or a woman! Unfortunately, this is the bitter inescapable reality we have to face on daily basis when we have to deal with somebody who is supposedly speaking well-educated, but he / she has such shocking attitudes against blind people, particularly, women.

O my God! Are those creatures like us? Do they go through the same things we experience in our lives? So how do they deal with such issues, poor thing they can’t see! Definitely we should not ask them, it may be embarrassing for them to answer our questions.

You know what? The problem is that some sighted people can’t think beyond the fact that they can use their eyes. They can’t imagine their lives without it. Many women wonder how a blind woman knows that she is getting her period. I actually googled the issue to see who talked about it before but I barely found something about this issue although believe me it is a very common question so I thought perhaps I would take this brave movement to discuss such sensitive issue.

My answer to those people will be in a form of questions. Don’t you ever feel fatigue? Or pain when you are getting your period? Don’t you feel anything coming out of your body at all? Don’t you ever feel more emotional when it is approaching? Can’t you know at least its approximate date during the month?

Answering those questions is enough to understand how blind women know when she is getting her period. So, how can she know if there is a stain in her clothes?

Let us be honest and say that it may happen with any woman, however, of course since we agreed before that sighted people are always right, if it happens for a blind woman, it will be interpreted that because she is a blind woman, she is poor thing, she can’t take care of herself. On the other hand, if this occurs to a sighted woman, yeah it is normal, don’t worry about it, it sometimes happens. I never hated anything in my life more than this way of judging and evaluating any situation in which a blind person is involved. I am not saying that blind people are angels or they are always right too but what I am saying is that we should try to understand the logic of everything we do.

My final advice to my blind female friends is to be careful! Don’t put your pad on until you are in an embarrassing situation. Try to be ready even 1 or two days before its right day to get it. Try not to wear bright colors during those days if possible, or if you are not sure about yourself. Mothers should give such advice to her daughter even if she is sighted so please mom, your blind daughter also needs your care and attention.

One thought on “Blind women and Menstruation: why and how?

  1. I find this article really important, I am a sighted woman but am I industrial designer as well and I have been thinking to design something that helps blind women to control the monthly period, it is very difficult to find information about this. So I understand almost everything in blind woman is the same than in sighted woman, but I am sure as well that all woman need some products or just stuffs to get a mora independent and confortable life.

    If any one has something for me I will appreciate.

    Alexnadra.

give us your feedback about this post, keep the conversation going!

