Independent Living Skills

Independent living skills is a big title for a whole set of courses or program taught in some of the centers for the blind especially in the more developed countries. The aim of such programs or courses is to empower any blind individual in order to be fully independent or at least he / she reduces the need for the sighted assistance on daily basis. A blind friend told me “some people think that we need somebody to feed us, assist us wear our clothes, or even help us use the bathroom.” One day somebody asked me “does your roommate cook for you?” so I replied “no she is only my roommate not my housemaid.” I still remember the funny reply that my roommate said when I told her about this weird thing “O! 🙂 I would charge a lot if I would do this job. “

What I want to say is that you can’t actually find 24/7 visual assistant to do your daily living activities such as: cooking, cleaning, and organizing your stuff, using home equipment and devices. On the other hand, I want to show how creative and efficient some blind people are. That’s why I also would like to call upon my friends to share their techniques in order to broaden our understanding and learn from each other. In fact, there are many people around the world or even here in the States who unfortunately don’t have the chance to join those centers to learn more about those skills but they are creative and talented enough to find their way and live more independently.

The point which I want to make here is that for a blind person to live independently is not an impossible thing. It just needs a talented and patient teacher, a creative thinking, maximizing senses, special training and sharing experience among other blind people.

give us your feedback about this post, keep the conversation going!

